[ Forms Catalogue ] [ Forms List ] [ Help ]

Important Information (HRB5040)

Canada’s Volunteer Awards (CVA) program is about recognizing the significant contributions that volunteers, not-for-profit organizations and businesses across the country make to help people and their communities. The Awards are about people working in partnerships to find new solutions to strengthen our country.


CVA consists of one national award and 20 regional awards presented every year. For the Thérèse Casgrain Lifelong Achievement Award, one national recipient is selected. For Community Leader, Emerging Leader, Business Leader and Social Innovator, a recipient for each Award is selected from each of the following five regions:


·        Atlantic (Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia,  Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick);

·        Quebec;

·        Ontario;

·        Prairies (Manitoba,  Saskatchewan and Alberta,); and

·        British Columbia and the North (Nunavut, Northwest Territories and Yukon).


Description of Nominations


Thérèse Casgrain Lifelong Achievement Award: recognizes dedicated individuals who have volunteered for at least 20 years and have inspired other volunteers, led volunteer groups or made other exceptional achievements through volunteering.


Community Leader: recognizes outstanding individual volunteers or groups of volunteers who have taken a lead role in developing solutions to social challenges in communities. This category does not include not-for-profit organizations or registered charities.


Emerging Leader: recognizes volunteers between the ages of 18 and 30 who have demonstrated leadership and helped to build stronger communities.


Business Leader: recognizes businesses that demonstrate social responsibility in their practices, including promoting and facilitating volunteerism locally, regionally, and nationally.


Social Innovator: recognizes not-for-profit organizations that address social challenges in innovative ways.





The call for nominations is open until June 15, 2018.